top of page

Student Art Exhibition presented by  GreenState Credit Union

The Student Art Exhibition (SAE) presented by GreenState Credit Union spotlights the creativity of children in grades K-12 attending schools in Central Iowa through a special exhibition at the Festival. Additionally, the students are recognized at the Visionary Artist Ceremony on Saturday of the Festival and again at a special reception in September. 

The Student Art Exhibition is designed to encourage children to pursue their passion for the visual arts, and to recognize student and teacher achievements and artistic talent.


GreenState White-01.png

Participating Schools in 2023:


Abbie Sawyer Elementary School 

Ames Christian School 

Ames High School 

Ames Middle School 

Anderson Elementary 

Ankeny Centennial High School 

Aurora Heights Elementary 

Berg Middle School 

Big Creek Elementary 

Bondurant Intermediate  

Bondurant-Farrar High School 

Bondurant-Farrar Junior High 

Brookview Elementary  

Carlisle Elementary School 

Carlisle Middle School 

Carroll Middle School 

Central Campus 

Central Elementary 

Clay Elementary  

Coon Rapids-Bayard Secondary School 

Cornell Elementary  

Cowles Montessori 

Crossroads Park Elementary 

Dallas Center Elementary 

DeSoto Intermediate 

Dowling Catholic High School 

East High School 

Edwards Elementary 

Ehler Homeschool 

Emerson Elementary School 

Emerson Hough Elementary 

Fust Homeschool 

Grand View Christian Elementary School 

Hanawalt Elementary 

Hartford Upper Elementary 

Heritage Elementary 

Hillside Elementary  

Holy Trinity Catholic School 

Hoover High School 

Indianola Middle School 

Interstate 35 Elementary 

Irving Elementary School 

Jackson Elementary 

Jordan Creek Elementary 

Joshua Christian Academy 

Kate Mitchell Elementary School 

Lakewood Elementary  

Laura Ingalls Wilder Elementary 

Lawson Elementary 

Madrid Jr/Sr High School 

Martensdale St. Mary's High School 

McKinley Elementary 

Meadow View Elementary 

Melcher-Dallas Community School 

Moore Elementary 

Morris Elementary (DMPS) 

Morris Elementary School (Bondurant) 

Moulton Elementary 

Newton Christian Elementary School 

Newton Christian Middle School 

North Polk Middle School 

North Ridge Elementary 

Northview Middle School 

Norwalk Eastview 

Norwalk High School 

Norwalk Middle School 

Ogden High School 

Orchard Hills Elementary  

Oviatt Elementary School 

Parkview Middle School 


Pleasant Hill Elementary 

Pline Homeschool  

Prairie Ridge Middle School 

Radiant Elementary 

Rock Creek Elementary 

Roose Homeschool 

Roosevelt High School 

Sacred Heart School 

South Middle School 

South Prairie Elementary 

Southeast Polk High School 

Southview Middle School 

St Joseph School 

St. Augustin Catholic School 

Sugar Creek Elementary 

Sully Christian Elementary School 

Sully Christian Middle School 

Theodore Roosevelt High School 

Thomas Jefferson Elementary 

Timberline School 

Twin Cedars Community School 

Virtual Campus 

VS Academy 

Waukee Middle School 

Waukee Timberline School 

WCV Dexter Elementary 

WCV Stuart Elementary 

WDMCS Homeschool Enrichment Program Rex Mathes 

West Elementary 

Western Hills Elementary 

Windsor Elementary 

Winterset High School 

Woodland Hills Elementary 

Woodrow Wilson Elementary 

Wright Elementary 



2023 Timeline:

March 7: School and Student Artwork Submission Form opens on our website 
April 28: Last day to submit student artwork online 
May 1: Begin artwork drop off – at the DMAF office located inside Mainframe Studios (900 Keosauqua Way, Studio 431, Des Moines, IA 50309) 
May 19: Final day for artwork drop off 
June 24: Visionary Artist Ceremony at the Des Moines Arts Festival® 
July 10: Artwork displayed at GreenState Credit Union locations 

September 6: Student Art Exhibition Reception and pick up at Mainframe Studios 
September 7: Artwork picked up from DMAF through October 13, 2023 


Official Guidelines

  • Participating schools will be from the Central Iowa region. 

  • Each school must complete the School and Student Artwork Information form and must be willing to send home with the student artist the Student/Parent Letter. 

  • Each elementary school may submit up to  four  works that are two-dimensional and no larger than 12" x 18". 

  • Each secondary school may submit up to  four  works that are two-dimensional and no larger than 18" x 24". 

  • Only two-dimensional media is acceptable. 

  • No stretched canvas. 

  • Artwork must be created in the 2022-2023 school year.

  • Do not mount or mat artwork. Staff will mount submitted artwork. 

  • Schools must agree to review and honor U.S. copyright law (Title 17) and copyright guidelines provided by the Heartland Area Education Agency.

  • Schools must be willing and able to print and send the Student/Parent Letter home with each student selected to participate in SAE. (Alternatively, the letter may be emailed to the parent)

  • Schools must be willing to prepare Student Artwork to the specifications below.

  • Schools must be willing and able to mail Student Artwork or deliver artwork on scheduled dates/times.

  • Schools must be agreeable to the Artwork Pick-Up Policy.

Pick-Up of Student Artwork

  • Pick-up artwork immediately following the Student Art Exhibition Reception on September 6, 2023. The location of the reception will be Mainframe Studios, 900 Keosauqua Way, Des Moines, IA 50309.

  • Artwork will NOT be sent to schools or students.

  • Artwork not picked up at the reception will be taken to Mainframe Studios and can be picked up Monday through Friday, from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., beginning September 7. For questions regarding pickup, contact Daphne Dickens (  

  • Please make arrangements to pick up the artwork by October 13, 2023.  After this date, the artwork will be disposed of.

Documents and Resources

Please direct questions to:

Zoey Lohse 

Program Intern

Des Moines Arts Festival®


bottom of page